The One Encouraging Phrase That Gets Me Through Everything

The One Encouraging Phrase That Gets Me Through Everything | Even on the worst of bad days, these inspiring words help me carry on and find peace.

Please don’t get me wrong: I loved college. I had an amazing college experience filled with great memories and amazing friends, and I loved my major and my school (shout-out to William & Mary! Luh dat place.). But if I had to rankΒ each of my college years in order of goodness, I would probably put sophomore year last.

One of my most vivid memories from that year is sitting in the stairwell of my dorm crying on the phone. I didn’t want my roommates to hear me because I didn’t want to talk about it with anyone except my mom, who is my rock in times like these.Β It was too much. I was too stressed.

I was still trying to figure out how to balance my academics, social life, and sleep patternΒ and I was a little wobbly on my feet. Well, make that very wobbly. I was taking general requirement classes totally outside my comfort zone and academic interest (I’m still bitter about you, Geology 101) and it was hard. Very hard.

The One Encouraging Phrase That Gets Me Through Everything | Even on the worst of bad days, these inspiring words help me carry on and find peace.
I still remember taking this photo. I was studying for my Geology final and I was convinced that using pretty markers on my study guide would help make the process a little less painful. πŸ˜‰

 

As I was sobbing uncontrollably, probably about a Geology assignment I didn’t know how to do (I really am stillΒ bitter), my mom said something to me that finally stuck.

“Amanda, just do what you can,” she said. “That’s all you can do.”

Somehow those words shook me from my self-pitying stupor. After we hung up I went back to my room and wrote “Do what you can!” on a sticky note and placed it in a visible spot on my desk.

It stayed there. For the next three years.

IMG_5616Even as I moved from a dorm room to an off-campus house and then eventually to an apartment in NYC, my sticky note stuckΒ with me. And so did my manta. Do what you can.

Over the years, the versatility of this phrase has amazed me. It’s comforted me in times of stress, when I have a big assignment due or I worry about getting daily tasks completed, because I know that at the end of the day the only thing I have control over is what I can do.

I have a certain amount of time in the day and a certain amount of energy and skills. I can only do what I can. That’s all I can do. And the world will keep on turning regardless of what I accomplish today and what I can’t.

The One Encouraging Phrase That Gets Me Through Everything

This phrase also applies when I am thinking about social justice issues or causes I care deeply about.

Sometimes major problems like racism, sexism, or environmental destruction can seem so big and daunting. But I must do what I can. I have to do what I can. And if it’s not enough, IΒ take a restless kind of comfort knowing that I did everything in my power toΒ make the world a better place. That’s all I can do, after all.

Remembering to do what I can frees me from the burden of worrying that I won’t accomplish enough. It alsoΒ pushes me to exert all the energy, time, and resources I can into a project or cause. It reminds me that I must give everythingΒ I can possibly give, and once I’ve done that, it has to be enough.

I am doing what I can every single day to live purposefully, and I know I am giving all I’ve got!

Is there a phrase you repeat to yourself in times of stress or worry? What is it?

5

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The One Encouraging Phrase That Gets Me Through Everything

  1. I have a little phrase that is very similar to this – “just do your best.” I just remind myself that as long as I’m doing the best I can then everything will work itself out. Thank you for sharing your phrase, it was nice reading about it. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

