Weekly Wrap-Up: Half Marathons, Creative Writing, and Spontaneity

img_6665
Isn’t the back of my roommate’s head so pretty? It’s even cuter from the front.

It’s been a while since I did one of these, hasn’t it?! Okay, so I actually only skipped one week so I could post my Fall 2016 Bucket List last Saturday, but it feels like it’s been a long time.

These past few weeks have been full of adventures and quite the whirlwind of experiences! I feel like I’ve stuffed every day with activities – just a look at my planner will tell you all about it. But I’ve been abundantly excited about life lately, and I think that’s the point. I know when I’m living fully I’m living joyfully, feeling in-step with what I’m supposed to do. That’s what makes life worthwhile.

Anyway, in the last two weeks I…

1. Started training for a half marathon. (#1, short-term list)

If you follow me on Instagram, you may have seen that I recently started the process of preparing to run a half marathon. Gulp. ThisΒ is something I’ve tried before – in college I really wanted to completeΒ a half, but in the middle of training for a race I was injured and couldn’t continue. Even though the reason I stopped running had nothing to do with the fact that I “couldn’t do it,” the failure still haunts me a bit. Finishing the training and running a race will be a big win for me because it’ll remind me that I can achieve whatever I work towards. Wish me luck!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
This photo is from my Instagram: @thenextsevenblog.

2.Β Finished writing one thank-you note every day for a whole month. (#76, long-term list)

On my birthday this past August I made the decision to write a note of thanks every day for 31 days. It had been an item on my long-term bucket list for a while and I decided that there was no better way to kick off my 23rd year of life than to show the people who make me who I am that I value them. I learned so much from this process and I can’t wait to share the lessons I gathered with you on the blog! A post will definitely be coming soon. πŸ˜‰

img_7739
I thought my thank-you cards were super cute, which probably helped me stay motivated. πŸ˜‰

3. Went on many spontaneous adventures with good people.

Folks, I am lucky. I have some great friends, and they are always ready for a good time on a whim. Last week I went kayaking for free on the Hudson River with a group, and the next day a couple of friends convinced my boyfriend and I toΒ spontaneously buy tickets forΒ Kanye West at Madison Square Garden. Good memories all around.

img_6629
The city really does have everything!
img_6714
As you can tell, we were in the nosebleeds…but it was still so cool! πŸ™‚

4. Began writing creatively every other day. (#6, short-term list; #60, long-term list)

Writing is really important to me. Not just blog writing, but other kinds of writing too. I see this blog as aΒ discussion forum about livingΒ with meaning and purpose, and it’s also a platform where I can share tidbits about my life. I also enjoy writing poems and creative nonfiction, but I don’t make enough time for it. So lately I’ve been setting aside time every other day to write something. It doesn’t have to be long or even very good – it just has to be something. I also plan to begin submitting pieces of writing for publication every other week, which makes me a little nervous because eek, vulnerability. We will see how it goes.

5.Β Completed my first week at my new internship as a therapist. (#79, long-term list)

This was my first week at the Psychiatric Recovery Center (PRC) as a Social Work Intern. The PRC works with adults who have been diagnosed with schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, bipolar disorder, or have found themselves somewhere on the psychosis spectrum. All have been hospitalized at some point and are now working with therapists (that’s me!) at the hospital on an outpatient basis. I’m really excited about the work I’m doing and the clients I’m working with. It’s going to be a good year.

This upcoming week I’m GOING TO SEE HAMILTON ON BROADWAY (WHAAAAAT! Special thanks to Mrs. Pettyjohn for the tickets!) and going hiking (#4, short-term list). What’s the best thing you’ve done this week? What are you looking forward to doing in the week ahead?

5

13 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: Half Marathons, Creative Writing, and Spontaneity

  1. I’d like to get back on the creative writing train but if I do it, I want to write everything out. I kind of want to get a prompt book for my birthday just so I can curve this πŸ™‚

    Sounds like you had an exciting two weeks though! Good luck on the half marathon!

    Like

      1. Hahaha! Yes those do in fact exist, trust me I said the same thing when I found out! They apparently have a lot of different types at Barnes & Noble, so you should check them out!

        I like to do the shorter prompts, like 6 words or less. I used to do different types on here through different sites, one was about 5 sentences where the one where everything had to do with the number 3 but Friday was the best because you could go all out and it didn’t matter if you had bad grammar, spelling, etc! Total free write! So much fun!

        Like

      2. They can be sometimes!! You should also look up a Facebook page called “Writer’s Write” it also does “prompt of the day” and has a whole two albums of nothing but prompts. When I showed my nana those I thought she was going to faint! Lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like you had a great time! I hear ya on writing- I used to write in a journal pretty often but haven’t had as much time on the past few years! I like to write in a little book I have when I can. Keep that joyful living goin!! 😊
    Jen
    Beautylifemom.com

    Like

      1. Same- lots of journal writing when I get the chance, or when something is on my mind. I also have this small bedside book called Q&A a day that asks you questions 365 days a year and you can compare your answers over 5 years! It’s cool- and easy enough to do most nights when I can’t journal full-out!
        Jen

        Like

      2. Woah, my roommate has that 5 year book! She writes a few sentences every day about what she did, and when she’s finished with it she can look back on how she grew and changed as a person. Sounds like so much fun!

        Like

Leave a Reply

