Weekly Wrap-Up: Weekend Trips Away, Scary Things, and Bucket List Failures

IMG_7340.jpg

Welp. Here we are again. Two whole weeks have gone by without a weekly update. But I’m trying to just be okay with that. Because yo, I’m human, and there are tons of balls in the air right now, as you’ve probably noticed from my overdramatic Instagram captions. A girl’s gotta let a couple things slide every once in a while and there’s nothing wrong with that.

So here I am, back in action and ready to do this thang we call a Weekly Wrap-Up ’round these parts. Only this time it’ll be a Two Week Wrap-Up, which doesn’t sound half as catchy, but we’re rollin’ with it.

These past few weeks, I…

1. Took a weekend trip away. (#5, short-term list)

Kemp and I made the trip down to Williamsburg, Virginia to go to our alma mater’s homecoming weekend. We caught up with good friends,  watched  talked through the big football game, danced the night away, and ate all the yummy food we’d missed from one of our favorite little towns (special shout-out to The Cheese Shop! The house dressing is a must-try on their sandwiches). But I’d have to say the best part for me was getting to spend time with some dearly missed people in such a special place for us. There’s something about being with old friends that feels like curling up on a favorite couch or laying in your own bed after a trip away. Aside from being with them, the second best part of the weekend for me was getting to be around so much beauty. Williamsburg is my epitome of the perfect fall landscape with so many trees, open spaces, and lovely weather. I love that place.

img_7220
This campus makes my heart happy.
img_7251
The football game we “watched.”
img_7260
Special thanks to our alma mater for introducing us.

2. Started doing one thing that scares me every day for a month. (#15, short-term list; #78, long-term list)

This was a big one. To be honest, I’ve been putting off this bucket list item for a while, so I copied it from my long-term bucket list onto my short-term bucket list because I knew there wasn’t any other way I’d get motivated to do it without a firmer deadline than my eventual death. So I had by October 31 to get started if I wanted to complete it by the end of November, which is the deadline for my short-term bucket list. And I still put it off until this past week. Because doing things that are scary is, well, scary. And uncomfortable. And not always fun. But friends, OH MY GOSH. I’m learning a TON with this one, which is exactly why I put it on my long-term bucket list in the first place. I knew that doing something totally outside my comfort zone every day for a month would inevitably cause me to grow in wild ways, because that’s where growth happens, right? In those frightening places where we make ourselves vulnerable, push ourselves just a little harder, or say yes to something we know is safe but still causes our skin to crawl. I’m only a few days in but man, this is gonna be a good one. I already can’t wait to write a whole post about it when I’m done.

3. Caught the Tompkins Square Halloween Dog Parade. (#11, short-term list)

From my understanding there are two big NYC traditions that everyone who lives here should probably experience at some point during their time in the city: the Greenwich Village Halloween Parade and the Tompkins Square Halloween Dog Parade. Last year I participated in the Greenwich Village Halloween Parade and this year I knew I had to see the pups strut their stuff, so I made my way towards the festivities on that cold Saturday morning. And I was not disappointed. I saw dogs as superheroes, dogs as bowls of spaghetti, dogs as Pokemon, dogs as Cousin It, DOGS AS EVERYTHING. It was the best day ever because dogs. If you’re ever in NYC while this is going on, you have to check it out!

img_7322
I MEAN.

4. Explored New York even more, because honestly I never run out of new things to do and try here. (#40, long-term list)

I’m realizing more and more that I only have eight more solid months in the city before I’ll likely move, so discovering every last inch of this place feels more urgent than ever before. Luckily some wonderful mentors and friends visited me recently and I got to do so much fun stuff with them, like catch The Book of Mormon on Broadway, eat the best noodle soup I’ve ever had, and admire the cityscape via a rooftop bar (of course!).

img_7330
Some talented folks involved in this production.

5. Failed at a bucket list item…oops. (#6, short-term list)

Friends, I have a confession to make. I haven’t been writing one poem every other day for the past two weeks. Life got way busy, and like I said at the beginning of this post, something had to give. But that’s not an excuse. I always think that if something is a priority then it gets the time and attention it deserves, and evidently writing a poem every other day was not a priority. (To be clear, I’ve still been submitting poems, so I’m still on track for short-term bucket list item #7.) To be honest, the failure kind of makes me uncomfortable. I’m not quite sure what to do with it. Can I still cross it off if I write a poem every other day from here on out? Can I change the bucket list item to accommodate a two week break? I’m not sure. That doesn’t seem fair to the spirit of making life meaningful in a way I dictate without exceptions. I don’t have an answer on it right now, but I’m thinking about it and I’ll get back to you. In the meantime, any thoughts on what I should do? Do I keep writing poems every other day and cross off the item despite my brief hiatus? Do I keep writing poems every other day because I want to write more but I still don’t get to cross off the item, and it rolls over to my next short-term bucket list? Do I stop stressing about something kind of dumb? Is this dumb or is this actually something important to me that deserves ample emotion and attention and thought and UGH. Help me figure this one out, folks! Comment your ideas on what I should do.

Next week I plan to figure out this poetry thing (#6, short-term list), keep training for my half marathon (#1, short-term list), and really work on the past-tense in Spanish (#3, short-term list).

What do you plan to accomplish this week? Have you ever failed at a bucket list item? What did you do afterwards?

the-next-seven-1

4 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: Weekend Trips Away, Scary Things, and Bucket List Failures

Leave a Reply

