Weekly Wrap-Up: Comedy Shows, Plane Tickets, & Finding Peace

IMG_7416.jpg

Haaaaaapppy Friday friends! Technically I have Fridays off so it’s already my weekend, and I’m more than thrilled. My plans for today are to take a really long run and to spend time with Kemp’s family – they get into NYC this morning for a quick visit. It’s their first time in the city so I’m super excited to watch them explore all the best sites!

This week went by super fast. Did anyone else feel that way? I feel like last Friday was just yesterday.

This week, I…

1. Caught a comedy show downtown. (#13, short-term list)

Have you ever heard of Chris Gethard? He’s a comedian and improv guru who has a hand in a number of entertainment-related shows and podcasts. Recently he’s been doing a one-man off-Broadway production called Career Suicide, and Kemp and I went to go see it this week. It’s all about Chris Gethard’s struggles with depression, suicide, anxiety, alcoholism, drug use, and everything in between. Sounds serious, right? Somehow this amazing comedian is able to make it all absolutely hilariousΒ while at the same time highlighting the importance of mental health issues. That’s talent right there. Definitely check it out if you are in the area and get a chance!

2. Booked my plane ticket to Thailand!!!

Whaaaaat! This is so exciting!!! Three of my girlfriends and I have been planning to go on a trip after graduation for a few months now, and at first it seemed like a dream that might not ever become a reality. But now we’ve booked our plane tickets and we’re actually going! I’m so pumped. Travel is so important to me because I find it thrilling and enlightening and stimulating to immerse myself in a totally different culture, especially non-Western ones. Yay! Any tips on what we have to do and see while we’re there?

Wat Phrakaew Temple, Bangkok, Thailand
I’m counting down the days!

2. Worked on my running and continued training for a half marathon. (#1, short-term list)

Lately I’ve been feeling better about my running than ever before. Bodies are so interesting, y’all. One dayΒ I’m getting winded walking up the stairs and then a few weeks later I’m able to run miles and miles and miles with ease a lot of perspiration. But I’m able to do it. It’s wild what we can accomplish and how we can change with just a bit of effort and determination. I’m really excited to see where training continues to take me, but I am nervous about injury. Last time I was training for a half I got injured and couldn’t run the race, so I’m desperately trying to avoid that this time. Any tips on how I can keep at it?

IMG_6776.jpg

3. Started to feel more and more comfortable with the past tense in Spanish. (#3, short-term list)

This past week in my Spanish class, the teacher asked me to speak on the spot in the past tense. This isn’t unusual, but what was unusual was how I felt pretty dang comfortable doing it. I’m not perfect – there’s still a long ways to go before I feel I can roll off those conjugated verbs with ease. But I’m seeing progress, and that’s exciting! Once again, all it takes is a bit of effort and determination. πŸ™‚ Eek! I’m not sure I’ll be able to master the past tense by the end of the month, but I’m sure not gonna stop trying.

IMG_7129.jpg

4. Went on a few mini adventures and spent time with good people.

Adventure and friends are the two things that keep me going and fill me up. I need that ish.Β So I was over the moon when I was able to pass a few hours with people who make me happy over fun activities this week, when we:

  • let competition get the best of us at a Cards Against Humanity game night (it was my first time playing!)
  • carved out a few hours in our Sunday just to meander aimlessly through Central Park admiring the fall colors
  • had important discussions over meals and coffee that lasted for hours

img_7399-1

5. Found peace with failure. (#6, short-term list)

After writing about my failed attempt to write one poem every other day in my last weekly wrap-up, I promised I was going to do some serious thinking about where to go next. I wasn’t sure if I could cross off this item anymore, seeing as I had skipped two weeks of writing. I wanted to think that if I justΒ picked up the task again and started writing every other day as if nothing had happened, I could maybe, just maybe justify crossing it off and calling it complete. But I don’t want to do that. I don’t think I could feel good about it. That item doesn’t deserve a line through it, and that’s okay. Things are busy and we don’t always accomplish everything we want to achieveΒ when we want to achieve them. So here’s my game plan: I’m going to keep trying to write a poem every other day for the rest of the month as best I can because it’s something I want to do. I’m not going to cross off this item on my bucket list. And I’m going to carry over this item onto my next short-term bucket list so I can try again.

It kinda sucks knowing I didn’t accomplish this goal this time, but I’m going to give myself another shot. And if it doesn’t work out next time, then I’ll try again. And again. And again, until one day I get it. Because I know I will get it if I keep my eyes on the prize and makeΒ my goals a part of my priorities.

If you’re feeling like you’ve failed at something lately, whether it’s a bucket list item or something else, this video I saw on Facebook really helped me put failure into perspective. The speaker in the video, who just happens to be the CEO of Spanx, details how she sees failure not as the inability to accomplish something but as the refusal to try. Give it a watch if you have a second – I bet it’ll inspire you like it inspired me.

Next week I’m planning on continuing to do one thing that scares me every day for a month (#15, short-term list; #78, long-term list) and start planning my trip to Thailand even more diligently.

What are you up to this week? What was your biggest thrill from last week? How do you handle it when you face failure?

the-next-seven-1

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up: Comedy Shows, Plane Tickets, & Finding Peace

Leave a Reply

