December Reflection Challenge: 31 Days of Celebrating Your Year [+ A Free Printable!]

December Reflection Challenge: 31 Days of Celebrating Your Year [+ A Free Printable!] | Create a memory jar to reflect on and celebrate 2016! #2016 #newyears #newyear #newyearseve #2017 #memoryjar #december #memories #memory #masonjar #challenge #december #monthlychallenge #dailychallenge

Tomorrow is the first day of December, friends, and that means we’ll officially be in our last month of 2016.

Holy cannoli! Where did the past year go?

I know exactly where it went. It went to late nights at rooftop bars with close friends and overpriced glasses of wine, to road trips spent getting lost and stopping at far too many roadside attractions, to long runs and delicious meals, and to a few good ol’ nights on the couch.

But mostly, 2016 went to memories. It went to a series of moments that make up our lives. 

And that’s what’s important, right? To make memories, to lean into the daily, and to build and cherish meaningful relationships. That right there is the stuff of a beautiful life.

But what’s the point of living well if you can’t remember what you’ve lived?

For me, the end of December can bring on a period of reflection, where I think a lot about how I’ve spent the previous 12 months. I often carefully consider whether I’ve used them well and lived them meaningfully.

But sometimes I need a little help jogging my own memory. I want to be able to commemorate all the things I did and all the moments that were special to me in 2016, but it can be hard to remember everything important that happened!

So I created a way to use the month of December as a period of celebration for the past year.

It’s intended to help capture all the most fun, full, and fantastic memories so that on December 31, as the clock strikes down to midnight, we will be able to reflect back on all our accomplishments and joys of 2016.

The December Reflection Challenge has been born!

I hope you find this exercise to be helpful to you as you look back on why 2016 was special for you. And if you had a particularly rough year (as so many of us did), my hope is that this worksheet illuminates the small moments that were precious, pure, and good.

December Reflection Challenge: 31 Days of Celebrating Your Year [+ A Free Printable!] | Create a memory jar to reflect on and celebrate 2016! #2016 #newyears #newyear #newyearseve #2017 #memoryjar #december #memories #memory #masonjar #challenge #december #monthlychallenge #dailychallenge

Materials you will need:

Guidelines for the December Reflection Challenge:

  1. Every day, fill out one of the prompts for the December Reflection Challenge on a small piece of paper. Use this as a moment to reflect on your favorite memories and accomplishments from 2016.
  2. Fold the paper up (or crumple it if you’re feelin’ fiesty)
  3. Place the piece of paper in the jar and don’t peek at it for the rest of the month
  4. Sometime on December 31, open each piece of paper in turn and reflect on the joys you find within. You may be surprised at all you achieved and experienced!
  5. Celebrate yourself and your year! What a time it’s been.

And that’s it! Easy peasy. And I guarantee that you’ll be amazed on December 31 when you open each of those memories. I have a roommate who practices a similar exercise each year and loves how big it makes her smile.

You can find the daily prompts written out below, but be sure to check out my free printable with all the prompts typed out on pretty cards for you to fill out! There’s even a tag at the top you can use to decorate your jar. 🙂

IMG_6954.JPG

Daily Prompts For The December Reflection Challenge:

  • December 1: My favorite adventure of the year was…
  • December 2: An important relationship in my life this year was…
  • December 3: A challenge I overcame this year was…
  • December 4: A lesson I learned this year was…
  • December 5: Something new I tried this year was…
  • December 6: A big success I had in 2016 was…
  • December 7: I changed for the better this year because…
  • December 8: A new friend I made in 2016 was…
  • December 9: The best meal I enjoyed this year was…
  • December 10: The largest decision I made this year was…
  • December 11: My favorite memory from this year is…
  • December 12: The strangest experience I had in 2016 was…
  • December 13: A time I was truly happy this year was…
  • December 14: The best gift I gave someone else this year was…
  • December 15: The best book I read this year was…
  • December 16: A time I received praise this year was…
  • December 17: Something I crossed off my bucket list this year was…
  • December 18: A funny story I will tell about this year is…
  • December 19: My proudest achievement this year was…
  • December 20: I impacted someone’s life for the better this year when…
  • December 21: The craziest thing I did this year was…
  • December 22: My best purchase of the year was…
  • December 23: I changed the world in a small way this year when I…
  • December 24: The best decision I made this year was…
  • December 25: I felt loved this year when…
  • December 26: My most peaceful memory of the last year is…
  • December 27: A stand-out movie I saw this year was…
  • December 28: An important conversation I had this year was…
  • December 29: Something I’m grateful for about the past year is…
  • December 30: I will make 2017 even better than 2016 by…
  • December 31: Go ahead and open your cards! Celebrate!

Download this December Reflection Challenge printable for cute prompt cards and a tag at the top you can use to decorate your jar!

I hope this year was full of joy for you. I hope it was brimming with the small and big moments that make life exciting, adventurous, meaningful, and deep. Because we’ve only got a few of these here years in the cards for us. We need to make the most of them.

Happy celebrating! What else are you doing in December to make the most of the last month 2016?

the-next-seven-1

Wanna pin this? Here’s a free picture to use!

liveout loud (9).png

One thought on “December Reflection Challenge: 31 Days of Celebrating Your Year [+ A Free Printable!]

Leave a Reply

