Two-Month Wrap-Up: Published Poems, Half Marathons, & Protests

16142247_10208647133390960_8316519731967632460_n (1)WOW. And I mean wow. It has been a while!

Hellloooo there, faithful TN7 readers! Welcome back. I went on a lil unannounced hiatus. And it was unannounced because I didn’t really plan it and didn’t really realize it was going to happen until it was already happening.

One day I was like, “Hey, I should write some blog posts.” And I didn’t.

And then I didn’t write anything the next day, either.

Or the next day.

You get the idea.

Basically I have no excuse except that I wasn’t feeling very inspired. I struggle with feeling that I have much to provide, which is something I’ve wrestled with before, but I’ve realized that’s kind of dumb. I have me to provide. 

Maybe I’ll write a whole blog post on that one day, on how we have ourselves to provide the world and that is enough. And more than just being enough, that is significant.

But for now I’ll spare you all that cheesy inspirational stuff and update you on all the life-living I’ve tried to do these past few months, since I haven’t done a weekly wrap-up since 2016. (What?!)

And boy, has there been lots of life-living!

Even though I haven’t been posting many run-downs about my bucket lists, the past couple of months have been full of tons of stuff. They’ve been full of exuberantly happy moments, incredibly sad ones, personal achievements, and major failures. 

So without further ado, let’s get to it! The past few months, I…

1. Ran a half marathon! (#73, long-term bucket list; #2, short-term bucket list)

If you’ve followed this blog for a while, you know how much I’ve wanted to run a half marathon for a long time. I’ve trained for a half marathon before but wasn’t able to do it because I suffered an injury. And that failure was a thorn in my side for years.

One day I’ll write an entire post on what the process of training for a half marathon was like for me. But for now I’ll say that it was gruesome some days. There were so many times during a long run when I was tempted to retire my shoes and just give up.

But I kept that goal in mind. I kept finding new ways to keep going and continue putting one foot in front of the other, even when I really, really didn’t want to take another step.

And I did it! My roommate and I ran those 13.1 miles and we ran ’em good.

By “ran ’em good” I really mean “she ran super fast and confidently because she’s a former collegiate athlete while I struggled to barely keep up with her and cussed the whole last three miles,” but hey, we finished. And I didn’t die. And that’s all I care about.

For real though, it feels good to check that one off the list. 🙂

IMG_8682
We promptly got brunch right after this.

2. Took a Spanish class. (#3, short term list)

In all honesty, I’m still taking it. I’m about 6 weeks into my Spanish 4 class at Fluent City, an awesome school that helps people learn languages and do a lot of other cool stuff, too.

I’ve raved about how much I love Fluent City before because they rock. You should check them out if you live in a major city and are interested in learning a new language. I’ve taken Spanish classes at other places and will never go back because Fluent City is honestly the best.

Anyway, I’ve been really enjoying my Spanish 4 class and learning tons from it. Special shout-out to Carlos for being a great instructor and my classmates for being way cooler than me but still letting me get drinks with them after class anyway.

Which leads me to the fact that these past few months, I…

3. Gained more confidence in my Spanish-speaking abilities. (#4, short-term list)

Because of my amazing instructor and the incredible structuring of Fluent City’s classes, I feel that I’ve learned a ton. And I feel a bit more confident using the past tense and the future tense now.

It’s not that I could pick up and move to Spain and make it just fine without using a lick of English to help me out. But I do feel that I can hold a better conversation more easily and readily than I did when I was just beginning my Spanish journey this past summer. And that feels cool!

4. Published another poem in a literary journal I’m not affiliated with! (#55, long-term list)

While I haven’t been sticking to my goal to write a poem every other day, I have been trying to submit a little more frequently than I was submitting before.

And Adelaide Literary Magazine accepted three of my poems for their March 2017 issue!

I’m so excited. Writing is one of my favorite ways to express myself. I love to blog, and I also love to write poems and short nonfiction.

So to have someone validate that passion and tell me that they liked my poems enough to put them in print makes me smile.

Thanks Adelaide! Everyone go check them out – they published a lot of other amazing work this semester that was way better than mine but I’m going to pretend I actually measure up to the rest of them for the preservation of my own ego. And if you really feel like it, buy a magazine or two!

The poems that got published had a lot of elements of nature in them.

IMG_8945

5. Protested for something I truly care about. (#17, long-term bucket list; #7, short-term bucket list)

When I put this item on my bucket list, I knew Donald Trump was going to be inaugurated into the presidency on January 20th. But I didn’t know about the Women’s March on Washington.

I’m sure by now you’ve heard about the Women’s March, and if you haven’t then definitely check out their website for more information.

To be honest, I had some issues with the Women’s March. I don’t really think marching by itself does much to affect change, and it can actually serve to be counterproductive when people who have marched feel good checking their “activism” box for brownie points instead of getting involved in other, more politically impactful movements. The March was also pretty whitewashed, and you can read about that here. (The short version is that feminism has historically excluded, ignored, and often worked against women of color and their struggles.)

I decided to go anyway. Mostly because I believe that most women will be negatively affected by a Trump presidency, and also because I wanted to bring some intersectional language to the signage.

The March was emotional. I laughed. I felt inspired. I cried multiple times. It was a beautiful display of solidarity and also a time of mourning. And I am glad I went.

16142747_10208654592377430_5685197293257383953_n
My feminism will be intersectional or it will be bullshit.

Overall, the past few months have been a whirlwind. I have lots more updates that I’ll be sharing over time in this space.

But here’s a slideshow of a few other adventures I’ve had for now!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mostly I want to say I’m glad to be back. And I’m glad you’re here, too. Thanks for reading, friend. It means more than I can say.

Please reach out sometime! I want to hear your thoughts about what we’re talking about here.

What’s one major success you’ve had over the past few months? What’s your biggest goal for the upcoming months?

the-next-seven-1

One thought on “Two-Month Wrap-Up: Published Poems, Half Marathons, & Protests

Leave a Reply

