Spring 2017 Bucket List! [And Some Blog Updates]

17015891_1858503367740548_7367449524357561425_o

When I wrote my Winter 2016-2017 Bucket List, I complained that fall had seemed to fly right on by. I don’t feel that way at all about the winter. These past 3.5 months have crawled.

Anyone else get the sense that time is trudging ever-so-slowly when it gets cold out? Maybe it’s a psychological thing. My mood definitely drops when it gets chilly out and the sun isn’t as vibrant, so I’m really glad I was training for a half marathon this winter because exercise really keeps up my spirits.

Even though the winter seemed kinda slow and just ugh overall, that didn’t mean it was uneventful. Actually, I think I crossed more things off my long-term bucket list this season than I did during the fall or summer. So that’s pretty cool!

Some of my favorite highlights from this winter include:

There’s so much to be thankful for about this winter. The past few months have been really full, and I’m so grateful for that.

17097172_1858503721073846_566237919445655320_o
My favorite shot from our Rhode Island road trip!

And I’m super duper grateful to have the space on this blog to share how I make my life meaningful. It keeps me accountable to continuing to do just that. 

But I’m sure you’ve noticed that I’ve been a bit absent around these parts lately, more absent than usual. I won’t lie – it’s been hard to keep up with the blog when there’s so much going on and I’m bustling around trying to pack every day with large and small adventures.

I’d like to open up a convo about how things might be changing a bit around here. If you’re like, “I don’t care, Amanda. Let me just see your freakin’ Spring 2017 Bucket List,” that’s totally cool! You can skip forward a bit to the end. Otherwise, stick around up here for now!

I don’t like that I haven’t been able to post as much as I’d been posting in the past. Honestly, this past summer I was able to write a lot of posts in advance because I wasn’t as bogged down with school or my internship – I was just working and living it up.

I’d like to say that now that I’m back into the flow of things, I’ll be able to post with the same frequency I’d been reaching in the past. But as I look ahead into the coming months, that doesn’t seem realistic. I know I’ll be extra busy this spring as I prepare to graduate from grad school, study for my exam to become a Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW), apply for jobs, and finish up my internship with a bang.

So I think I need to restructure how I’d been approaching this blog. Don’t get me wrong – I want this place to continue being what it always has been: a space to have a discussion on what living meaningfully can look like. I can’t tell you the joy I feel when I get an email or a private message from you giving me your thoughts on whatever we’re talking about around here.

Still, in the interest of protecting that conversation, I think it’d be smart to cut down on the frequency of my posts. If you’ve been around here for a while, you may know that I used to post every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Posts on Mondays and Wednesdays were typically about some topic pertaining to full living, while Fridays are normally when I rehash the week and share what I did to make gains towards completing my bucket list.

Instead of posting that much, I’m changing the format a bit so I can keep up with you all.

Rather than post three times a week, new content will go up once a week. Mondays at 10am EST, this blog is gonna be the place to be! And instead of posting a weekly wrap-up, I’m going to post a monthly wrap-up. The last Monday of every month will feature what I’ve been up to as I try to make the most of every single day.

So, to recap: posts will only go up on Mondays at 10am EST from now on. The first three Mondays will feature topics you’ve come to expect from this space, like how to make life the best it can be. The last Monday will be a monthly wrap-up that talks about what I’ve been doing lately to create a full life.

What do you think? Is this something you feel still honors the spirit of TN7? I’m open to your feedback and suggestions all the time.

IMG_5197
City adventures with this friend have kept me from being as diligent about the blog. This shot is from when we rowed boats in Central Park!

Okay, if you’ve been skimming because blog restructuring bores you, you can tune back in now! It’s time for my Spring 2017 Bucket List!

I’m so excited about this one, friends. It has a ton of things I pulled from my Long Term Bucket List, like graduating from grad school, becoming a licensed social worker, visiting Thailand (whoo!!), and taking a one-second video every day for a year.

So much big stuff is going to happen this spring, and I am super pumped about it! 🙂

Because I still haven’t gotten into the groove with my poetry writing yet, there are two items on the list about that. Over the winter I tried to write a poem every other day, and that didn’t work out too well. Instead I’m going to aim to write a poem once a week and submit five pieces of writing to literary journals over the course of the spring. That seems more doable to me.

Also, because this may or may not be my last full season in New York City, I have a few small New York-specific bucket list items on here. I always wanted to rent a bike and take a spin around Central Park but I haven’t done it yet, so that one is on there. I also want to experience one last concert in the city, since so many artists come through and I’ve enjoyed every concert I’ve ever been to here.

img_8033
Thank goodness for Stub Hub when ya favorite bands are all sold out.

Without further ado, here’s the big list!

Spring 2017 Bucket List!

  1. Jam out at one last concert in New York City
  2. Graduate with a Masters degree in social work
  3. Take the Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) exam
  4. Become a Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW)
  5. Visit Thailand
  6. Submit five pieces of writing to literary journals
  7. Write one poem a week
  8. Take a one-second video every day for a year
  9. Dye my hair pink!
  10. Travel to a new city (outside of Thailand, of course!)
  11. Throw one last awesome party with my roommates in our apartment
  12. Rent a bike and take a ride around Central Park

What’s on your bucket list this spring? Did you cross anything off your list during the winter? If so, what?

the-next-seven-1

Leave a Reply

