Summer 2017 Bucket List!

IMG_1476

LOL. Just, lol.

It’s July 19th and I am only just now creating a summer bucket list. Goooooood job, Amanda. πŸ˜‰

I’ve never waited this long into a season to create a bucket list – normally I have it ready to go by the time the first day of whatever time of year happens to be rolling in. I think I’d typically be pretty upset at myself for letting the first month and a half of summer pass without a bucket list in order, because I know when I keep a bucket list I live life more fully and I’m more likely to take advantage of every day.Β 

But since I know I’ve actually spent the first part of my summer exploring various cities, traveling to Thailand, graduating from my masters program, accepting a job, moving to Denver, and getting myself settled in a new place, I’ll cut myself a little bit of slack for this one. Grace, folks. We all need to get it and to give it, even to ourselves.

18403300_1895314250726126_8803142311908181285_n
Visiting Nashville was so much fun, especially when you get to hang out with dogs.

Now that my “Figure Out My Entire Life In Denver” to-do list is dwindling down (spoiler alert: it included a ton of boring tasks like opening a new bank account, finding a place to live, getting my car’s oil changed, and visiting more breweries in a month-long span than I have in my entire life combined) I felt like I could finally sit down and create a bucket list.

This summer’s list is full of places to visit, activities to do, and sights to see in Colorado. I’m learning that this state is FULL of all the best outdoorsy things ever, and I’m super excited about that. It’s a polar opposite world from NYC. More on this in a later post, I promise.

But anyway, because I’m really intent on leaning into my new Colorado life, I want to make sure I take advantage of all the things this beautiful place has to offer. That’s why you’ll see a lot of Colorado-specific bucket list items this season.

Then there are a few non-Colorado-specific things on the list. Namely, I’m pumped to try and get back into a regular exercise schedule, because traveling so much lately has totally thrown that off.

IMG_1071
I’m glad we at least did a lot of walking in Thailand – that kept me pretty active so I felt better about stuffing my face with good food. πŸ™‚

I’m also excited to start on my long-term bucket list goal of doing one act of kindness every day for a year. Right now I’m planning to start on my birthday this August, but we’ll see – maybe I’ll start sooner if I feel so inclined.

One of the bigger bucket list items, though, has to do with creating community in Colorado. I moved out here entirely alone, so I know I’ll need to build new friendships. Because I believe fully, to the core of my being, that we need meaningful connections with others to live meaningfully.

That’s about it! Here’s the big list:

Summer 2017 Bucket List

  1. Jam out to a concert at Red Rocks
  2. Go hiking
  3. Head to the rapids for some white water rafting
  4. Eat at Casa Bonita
  5. Take in the gorgeous views at Rocky Mountain National Park
  6. Go camping
  7. Visit some hot springs
  8. Get into a regular work-out schedule
  9. Start creating a community
  10. See Garden of the Gods
  11. Take a trip to the sand dunes
  12. Start on my long-term goal to do one act of kindness every day for a year

What’s been on your summer bucket list? Have you crossed anything off yet? What have you been doing this summer to live meaningfully?

the-next-seven-1

Leave a Reply

